Elected Officials

Residents of Marion County are fortunate to have a number of opportunities to engage in the political process and exercise their rights to vote. 

Jump to: US Congress » Florida Legislature » Marion County » Marion Co School Board » Cities

United States Congress

In addition to Florida's two US Senators, Marion County is represented by three members in the US House of Representatives.

Sen. Bill Nelson
Landmark Two 
225 East Robinson Street, Ste 410
Orlando, Florida 32801
Sen. Marco Rubio
201 S. Orange Avenue, Suite 350
Orlando, Florida 32801
Rep. Ted Yoho (District 03)
5000 NW 27th Court, Suite E
Gainesville, Florida 32606
Rep. Corrine Brown (District 05)
101 East Union Street, Suite 202
Jacksonville, Florida 32202
Rep. Rich Nugent (District 11)
115 SE 25th Avenue
Ocala, Florida 34471

Florida State Legislature

Marion County is represented by three members of the Florida Senate and four members of the Florida House of Representatives.

Sen. Charles Dean (District 05)
315 SE 25th Avenue
Ocala, FL 34471
Sen. Dorothy Hukill (District 08)
110 SE Watula Avenue-3rd Floor
Ocala, FL 34471
Sen. Alan Hays (District 11)
1104 Main Street
The Villages, FL 32159
Rep. Clovis Watson (District 20)
2815 NW 13th Street, Suite 202
Gainesville, FL 32609
Rep. Charlie Stone (District 22)
3001 SW College Rd, Suite 104
Ocala, FL 32371
Rep. Dennis Baxley (District 23)
315 SE 25th Avenue
Ocala, FL 34471
Rep. Marlene O'Toole (District 33)
916 Avenida Central
The Villages, FL 32159

Marion County Board of County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is the primary legislative and policy making body for Marion County. Marion County is divided into five districts and one Commissioner is elected from the district in which they reside. They are elected by all county voters to serve a four-year term. A chairman and vice-chairman are elected by the Board members each year.

The commission meets on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 9:00 a.m. in the Commission Auditorium, 601 SE 25th Avenue, Ocala. During these public meetings, the commissioners hear and vote on a variety of issues.

Board of County Commissioners....................(352) 438-2323

• District 1 – David Moore
• District 2 – Kathy Bryant
• District 3 – Jeff Gold
• District 4 – Carl Zalak, Chairman
• District 5 – Michelle Stone

County Administrator – Mounir Bouyounces

Constitutional Officers

Marion County has five constitutional officers: Clerk of the Circuit Court, Property Appraiser, Sheriff, Supervisor of Elections and Tax Collector—each with their own set of responsibilities to the citizens of Marion County.

Clerk of the Circuit Court– David R. Ellspermann .......(352) 620-3904

Property Appraiser – Villie M. Smith............................(352) 368-8300

Sheriff – Billy Woods........................................................(352) 732-8181

Supervisor of Elections – Wesley Wilcox....................(352) 620-3290

Tax Collector – George Albright....................................(352) 368-8200

Marion County School Board

The Marion County School Board is made up of community leaders who are elected to serve four-year terms.  They meet on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 6:00 p.m.  The Board sets aside up to 30 minutes of each meeting for residents to discuss issues.  Meetings are held at the School Board Office, located at 512 SE 3rd Street, Ocala.

School Board...........................(352) 671-7700

• District 1 – Nancy Stacy 
• District 2 – Beth McCall, Vice-Chair
• District 3 – Bobby James
• District 4 – Angie Boynton 
• District 5 – Kelly King, Chair

Superintendent of Schools – Heidi Maier...........(352) 671-7702

City of Ocala

(352) 629-CITY (2489)
110 SE Watula Ave | Ocala, FL 34471

Ocala serves as the county seat for Marion County and is governed by a council-manager system. This popular form of government combines the leadership of elected officials with the administrative experience of a city manager. Voters elect a five-member City Council and a mayor.  Four of the five Council members reside in specific districts and the fifth member is elected at-large. Council members serve five-year terms and the mayor serves a two-year term.

City Council appoints the City Manager, sets policies, approves budgets and determines tax rates. The mayor helps the council interpret policy. The mayor doesn't vote, but does have veto power. The mayor is also in charge of the Ocala Police Department.  City services, from zoning to parks and recreation, are found at the Citizen Services Center at 201 SE 3rd Street. City Hall is located on the same block and houses the offices of city staff and the City Council Chambers at 110 SE Watula Avenue, Ocala 34471

Mayor – Kent Guinn

City Council......................................................................................(352) 629-8401

• District 1 - Brent Malaver, Council President Pro Tem
• District 2 - Mary Sue Rich
• District 3 - Jay Musleh
• District 4 - Matt Wardell
• District 5 - Jim Hilty, Council President

City Manager – John Zobler

Assitant City Manager -- William Kauffman 

City of Belleview

(352) 245-7021
5343 Southeast Abshier Boulevard | Belleview, FL 34420

Mayor – Christine Dobkowski

City Commission

• Seat 1 – Michael Goldman, Mayor Pro-Tempore
• Seat 2 – Gary Ernst
• Seat 3 – Ronald T. Livsey
• Seat 4 – Robert "Bo" Smith

City of Dunnellon

(352) 465-8500
20750 River Drive | Dunnellon, FL 34431

City Council

• Mayor - Council Seat 1 – Nathan Whitt
• Council Seat 2 – Dennis Evans
• Council Seat 3 – Chuck Dillon
• Council Seat 4 – Walter Green
• Council Seat 5 – Penny Fleager

City Manager -- Eddie Esch 

Town of McIntosh

(352) 591-1047
5965 Avenue F | McIntosh, FL  32664

Town Council

• Cary McCollum, Mayor
• Frank Ciotti, Council President
• Eva Jo Callahan, Council Vice-President
• Willie Hamilton
• Thurman Kingsley
• Marshall Roddy

Town of Reddick

(352) 591-4095
P.O. Box 99 | Reddick, FL 32686

Town Council

• James R. Stroup, Mayor
• Steven K. Rogers, Council President
• Thomas Joyner
• William Pulliam
• Michael Salter
• William E. Willis, President Pro-Tem

Town Clerk – Marjorie Stroup

To find your state and federal elected officials or to find your voting precinct, visit the Marion County Supervisor of Elections website at www.VoteMarion.com